Only one Fleming in shortlist Libris


Slechts één Vlaming op shortlist Libris

Johan de Boose is with his latest novel ‘The vloekhout ” the only Fleming who is this year a chance on the Libris-list of literature.

Monday reduced the jury the longlist to a shortlist of six candidates. The other three Flemish candidates – Charles Ducal, Peter Terrin and Peter Verhelst – fell off.

The five remaining Dutch author Jan van Aken (The procession), Rob van Essen (The good son), Esther Gerritsen (The comforter), Bregje Hofstede (Drift) and Ilja Leonard Pfeiffer (Grand Hotel Europe).

The Boose is also critic for De Standaard der Letteren.

The Libris literature prize, good for 50,000 euros, is awarded to the author of the best original Dutch novel of the past year. Last year, the price to Be invisible by Murat Isik.

Chairman of the jury this year is former Dutch minister of Education, Culture and Science Jet Bussemaker. She is the winner announced on 6 may in the Amstel Hotel, live in Nieuwsuur on NPO2.