Gianni Moscon seize power in China after winning the queen’s stage, the Belgians killed on the final climb


Gianni Moscon grijpt de macht in China na winst in koninginnenrit, Belgen sneuvelen op slotklim

Gianni Moscon is the new leader in the Chinese Round of Guangxi (WorldTour). The Italian woelwater of Team Sky won the queen’s stage and take a strong option on the final victory

After three sprintetappes in a row was day four in Guangxi, with a stage about 152,2 km between Nanning and Nongla, the standings in a hard crease. After a pretty flat run had the slope to the viewpoint of Mashan Nongla ensure this, a kuitenbijter of 3.2 kilometres at an average of 7.3 percent.

Belgians of Quick Step Floors, and stirring is

Two riders went on the road for the peloton to ride: the Dutch Pascal Eenkhoorn (LottoNL-Jumbo) and the Swiss Stefan Küng (BMC). Behind their backs, could the sprintersploegen a day off: the pace was initially determined by Pull-Segafredo and EF Education First in the service of, respectively, Gianluca Brambilla and Rigoberto Uran.

Also Quick-Step Floors touched up after a time in the chase. The Belgian team had thanks to sprinter Fabio Jakobsen the leader’s jersey in the ranks, but counted today on the Belgians Philippe Gilbert and Dries Devenyns, who along the way boni’s sprokkelden to a tussenspurt. But the Belgians were on the final climb no fist.

Small sore enough for Moscon

On that slope chose problem child Moscon for the attack. The Italian hit a sore of five seconds, which not only sufficed for the win, but also for the leader’s jersey. Behind him druppelden Grosschartner, Chernetskiy, Carlos Verona and Uran one by one over the finish line. Devenyns and Gilbert were respectively the twelfth and the fourteenth.

In the stand has Moscon now nine seconds ahead of the first pursuer Grosschartner. Chernetskiy is third at fourteen seconds. First Belgian Dries Devenyns, ninth at 0:27. Many changes in the standings are no longer expected in the two stages of Saturday and Sunday, also contain in each case in the final few slopes.

Saturday wait for a ride from 212,2 km from Liuzhou to Guilin.


1. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) after 3u38’02”

2. Felix Grossschartner (BORA-hansgrohe) +5”

3. Sergei Chernetski (Astana Pro Team) +8”

4. Carlos Verona (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +11”

5. Rigoberto Uran (Education First-Drapac) +11”


1. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) in 12u02’29”

2. Felix Grossschartner (BORA-hansgrohe) +9”

3. Sergei Chernetski (Astana Pro Team) +14”

4. Remi Cavagna (Quick-Step Floors) +17”

5. Rigoberto Uran (Education First-Drapac) +21”